Fish Lips Kiss Heel

I’ve had fun getting used to the Fish Lips Kiss Heel. My first completed pair were these, which I love.

2015/03/img_2842-0.jpg
Austermann Irish Rainbow 6ply, it is lovely and soft! The heel fit well, and I did prefer it to making the flap and picking up stitches along the edge.

As I’ve mentioned before, the pattern does go on a bit (16 pages!) but it certainly leaves nothing out. I didn’t bother with the cardboard foot template part of things.

So I thought I would do a visual comparison between the old and new heels, using Bendigo Woollen Mills sock yarn. I love their sock yarn, it washes well, and some of the colours are awesome. These are standard top down socks, with a 1×1 rib cuff and 60 stitches on 2.5 mm needles. Both heels worked over 30 stitches.

2015/03/img_2884.jpg

2015/03/img_2883.jpg

2015/03/img_2885.jpg

2015/03/img_2886.jpg
I’m definitely sticking with the fish lips kiss heel. It is quicker, neater and fits just as well. I like the way the patterned wool makes only the little heel part stand out too, it looks more old fashioned or something. I’m also going to try the ‘twin stitch’ technique from the socks next time I have short rows to do in a garment. Anything has to be better than wrapping and turning! šŸ™‚

B

Leave a Reply

