DIY Knitting Tote

I’ve never had a knitting tote that I’ve really loved. The vintage ones I own are too small really for anything but socks or small projects, so I’ve always tended to make do with a big market bag or basket. Not anymore! I came across this digital pattern on Etsy this week and knew straight away it would work for me. Pockets galore, and lots and lots of room inside! It’s called the Ultimate Knitters and Crochet Tote by Sew Sweet UK.

2015/05/img_3508.jpg
It took me 3.5 hours start to finish, including finding and digging out the fabrics from my stash. I used an old piece of quilting fabric and brown polycotton for contrast. I didn’t want to use anything too ‘good’ in case it didn’t work, but I needn’t have worried. The instructions and photos were very clear, and even with my usual pretty ‘casual’ measuring, it all fit together. The drawstring top is optional, and I chose to add it to keep heat seeking animals out. It was an easy sew. I did need to use the walking foot on my machine to get through the thicker wadding layers.

2015/05/img_3509.jpg
I added two pockets to the lining for notions.

2015/05/img_3507.jpg
I am so happy with this tote! I can fit an entire sweater project in it, balls and all! Plus all kinds of needles, including circulars. It stands on its own, plus it has a carry strap.

2015/05/img_3510.jpg
The pattern comes with a smaller crochet version of the tote too, which I definitely plan on making as well. I actually wanted to make one for my mum today, but I ran out of wadding! So instead she got a dishcloth. I don’t normally do dishcloths, but this was too cute to go past. Nineteen Hundred House Dishcloth by Amanda Ochocki.

2015/05/img_3502.jpg

Happy creating!
B 🙂

3 thoughts on “DIY Knitting Tote

  1. Pingback: A retro sock knitting tote… | wolfberryknits

Leave a Reply

