Alien Autopsy: a surprise gift for M

 
What can I say, really….this won’t be to everyone’s taste. It is certainly not to mine. But we all make sacrifices for the ones we love. πŸ™‚ 
I saw the pattern on ravelry and thought M might like it, so I have been working on it secretly. But I’m a sensitive woman, so to feel good about it I choose to believe this alien crash-landed on Earth, dying on impact, and his dissection has helped to cure countless diseases. 

   
 The pattern, Alien Autopsy, is by Emily Stoneking. This is an intermediate pattern requiring good eyesight and experience working really fiddly little things in the round, i-cord and short rows. It was a challenge and a lot of fun to knit using only scraps from my stash. My only mod was to add a couple more organs to the ‘guts’. The main grey yarn is Hayfield Bonus Aran. I painted a frame that I already had, and purchased the foam core backing board for $4. And he loved it. πŸ™‚

   
   

26 thoughts on “Alien Autopsy: a surprise gift for M

  1. My partner would love this! I like it, but my favorite thing about it is seeing all the creative ways people have of updating an ancient art form and making it speak to them. How great is that?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh the things we do for those we love!! Still it is a bone fide artistic take on knitting and the designer has to be applauded for her efforts [I’m assuming female, but may be wrong?] You have done a great job on it and it’s pretty impressive. I also like your back story!

    I’m busy collecting Doctor Who doodads for a light catcher for my whovian daughter for Christmas ……. a lot of fun and a real challenge as the theme doesn’t speak to me as strongly as it speaks to her πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Pauline! πŸ™‚ Yes female designer with a whole ‘autopsy’ range! Oooh dr who thingies, what fun!! :)) I look forward to seeing pics of that one! yes for some reason I too always find it extra enjoyable to make something for someone else that is really not my style (as long as it isn’t a huge sweater or something, I am not that noble or self-sacrificing). Getting out of the comfort box is fun now and again πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

