The Knitting Gods are Angry

I had every intention last Friday of posting about my week.
I wanted to show the little shrike thrushes by the back door, which have now hatched.

   
  
  
Also (snake phobics look away now) this skin, found inside M’s shed right next to my boxes. Given how much the skins shrink, there is no denying this guy is a monster. Just a python thankfully, the placid, gentle members of the snake family.

   
 M made me my lazy Kate, with a rather ingenious design. Clever bugger.

  
I also accomplished a few things last week. I’ve designed two new patterns and am now waiting on yarn. Also recycled two old dresses into skirts. I love shirring. I want to shir all the things. 

   
     Finished my fourth Metallicus, sans pocketses this time.

  
And started a fifth, so I’m well on track for my six-by-summer goal. This yarn was from deep deep stash. You know you have stash issues when you actually have a box designated just “rainbow mohair”. Wtf.

   
 But I didn’t get to post. And the reason is…stupid crochet.
I have teetered at the top of the slippery crochet slope for so long that I got cocky and complacent about my self control. ‘Crochet isn’t my thing’, I kept saying to myself. ‘Too old fashioned. It’s useful, but not addictive.’ Fool.
I had watched an episode of Knitty Gritty quite a few years ago in which the lovely Vicki Howell said not to be scared of crochet, and that just learning a couple of stitches was great for knitters. It doesn’t threaten your allegiance. It’s just useful for edgings and steeking. It made sense, and I got my neighbour at the time to teach me to crochet granny squares. From granny squares, I progressed to filet edgings and rag rugs, initially to use up old sheets, then just because I like them.

   
     Then a few months ago, Craftsy offered the ‘My First Crochet Cardigan’ course with Sara Delaney really cheaply. I got it, adding it to the twenty or so courses I’ve already bought and haven’t watched (if I watched them all, man I would be pro at so many things! Except that too many of the instructors talk to you like you are a complete moron and I just can’t stand it). 
Flash forward to Friday…’Before I write my post, I’ll just have a quick look at that crochet video’, I said…’See if I like this instructor’…Two days later…back, two fronts and half a sleeve done.

  
Apparently crochet is like a ‘thing’…there are magazines, books…even patterns on Ravelry. Who knew? Everyone but me. Crocheting clothes, it turns out, is really easy. And REALLY fast. And fun. And addictive. And kind of sculptural. 
Dougal Maguire knew something was up. 

  
M even made the fatal mistake of asking me what I was knitting. 

  
Then guess what… And I wasn’t even playing yarn chicken. I should have had plenty of yarn, according to the pattern. ‘That doesn’t look like much left,’ I thought a few times. Eventually I grabbed the scales and…no. Nowhere near enough left. Frickin’ frickedy FRICK.
The knitting gods punished me for my disloyalty. Vengeful bastards. They know I should have been working on my Finland Sweater. And I am, I promise…it’s just reeeeeeaaaalllly boring. 

  
But I so wanted that chunky grey cardy! 😦 I wanted to put patch pockets and big bright yellow buttons on it! 🙂 So I have to frog it and will try again, but only after I have completed the necessary penance, which is three thousand million miles of stocking stitch on 3.5mm (US 4) needles. Then….I may just convert to the dark side.
B

41 thoughts on “The Knitting Gods are Angry

  1. Oh, this made me laugh! Needleworkers and their “camps”! I know that feeling of being disloyal to your tribe and then the needlework gods coming down to smite you. 😉 I hope your penance goes quickly–hey, maybe the thing to do is to get one of your down-talking Craftsy teachers talking to you while you knit? That’s got to be extra virtuous, right?

    Thanks so much for the laugh and the lovely photos, especially of the birds! You’re making such beautiful things; I really love that ecru skirt.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much for the comments, and I’m glad I made you laugh 🙂 we are funny with our loyalties aren’t we, haha yes I consider myself well ‘smited’, oh no I hope they don’t make me listen to one of those teachers! Haven’t I suffered enough? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You are a very busy woman. Yes, crochet is a thing. Now, you will have even more to do…Your little birds are lovely. The snake skin, lovely, too, without its innards accompanying it. I would not want to meet that snake. I hope it doesn’t eat birds…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Lisa, yes one more craft to add to the daily list, time is getting tighter! 🙂 I feel fortunate to have such problems though :)) yes they sure do eat birds, I have been keeping an eye out every day as I would hate for anything to happen to the birds, I’ve got attached to them! I think they have chosen just about the safest spot in the whole place though, so fingers crossed…:)

      Liked by 1 person

    • LOL thank you, if I’m honest I too don’t believe there is such a thing as too much rainbow 🙂 when this tee is done I expect I will be topping up the stash with some more if I can find it, would be a shame to waste the label… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I ha-ha’d out loud several times reading this post Bianca – welcome to the dark side!! I would far rather crochet than knit I have to admit ……….. but sometimes you just have to change allegiance. I have never, never thought to use old sheeting for rag rugs. Duh!! What a splendid idea….. lookit me rip the sheets off the beds and get going – and now I wish I didn’t have such a fetish for white sheets!! And that I hadn’t given away all the old curtain fabric!!

    Love the photo of the cat – it’s not all him is it? And the python skin – isn’t that amazing! And the train – oh, how I love the train!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Pauline! :)) I am late to the club, but I think I’ll enjoy being a member, I’ve already printed a heap of patterns (surprise surprise)… 🙂 yes with the sheets, quilt covers etc ask around family and friends as everyone seems to have one or two to throw out…I have yet to use any new fabric for my rugs, and I have made a lot! 🙂 yes that is all Dougal…it’s not a flattering angle…his nipples look like little white coat buttons on his fat belly 🙂

      Like

    • I got my light catchers in the mail today!!! Yaaaayyyyyyyy!!!! OMG they are absolutely beautiful Pauline, thank you so much!! And thank you for the postcards, they are just magical. ❤
      Now I'm off to the train to find the perfect spot for my purple bohemian…I'll show it off in my next post :)) xo

      Like

  4. I didn’t think that sort of thing could happen to you. 🙂 Learnt to crochet long before I learnt to knit so I guess I belong to the other mob.

    Thanks for posting the bird photos; I wonder how many trips mother had to make each day to keep those hungry mouths satisfied.

    Can’t wait to see the completed cardigan. Love those rugs. I am amazed that you have time to write a post but I’m glad you did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol thank you so much Mary! 🙂 oh yes, still plenty of crafting hiccups in my world :)) not quite a charmed life yet but I’m working on it 😉 those birds work SO hard, the mother and father share all the feeding duties and it’s just non stop for them from dawn till dusk! They are well fed babies 🙂 I didn’t know you were a crocheter! Excellent! And I look forward to seeing your pottery at some stage too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You and me both – I’m currently stocking stitching like crazy and promising myself the reward of an evening’s crochet when I’ve finished. I think the lure is definitely in the speed it grows – I know one evening crochet will remind me I’m bored with this damn shawl I’m crocheting.

    Now this M of yours is so handy. I’m thinking you should send him over here for a holiday 🙂 .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I think you’re definitely right Bekki, I never knew anything could work up that fast! There’s a lot of appeal in getting a sweater done in a few days. There’s something a bit more interesting about using a hook too, although that might just be novelty value for me 🙂 made me feel quite clever! 🙂 sounds like we both have over done the stocking stitch of late. Time for some intricate cabling, I reckon! 🙂 M is flattered someone else thinks he is handy hahaha 🙂 he doesn’t like building with wood because it’s messy and doesn’t bend, but he’s amazing with anything metal or mechanical! I’ll be over next year sometime, but don’t think he is coming with me. Too cold lol. 🙂 Maybe if I do him a thick cabled cardigan… 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you Andrea! 🙂 yeah they picked a spot RIGHT by the back door for some reason (literally a foot from the door) so they see us and hear our voices all the time and I am really hoping they will be quite tame when they grow up. Would love singing little birdies by the door! M says it is too much like living in a Disney movie lol 🙂 lucky the cats are indoors only 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh dear…I had the same trouble with a crochet cardigan project too…not enough yarn!! I ended up taking it all out, knitted a beautiful shawl…I have turned my back on crocheting indeed and worship her Holy Knittyness again. Pretty birds and nice snake skin. I once found a skin completely intact…dried it carefully and sewed onto a nice piece of fabric and framed it…I still have it. Love the skirts too, well done!!! you will look so stylish! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh I love the idea with the snake skin Johanna, clever you! 🙂 Will have to keep an eye out for a whole one. They are so beautiful, I also love the white gecko skins with their perfect little feet. Yes so frustrating with the yarn, especially as I had the right amount according to the pattern. It shall remain a mystery, although my money is still on her Holy Knittyness :)) (I think this is why I always have to do something else constructive while crafting, like a language lesson or an audiobook or something…then if it has to be ripped out it doesn’t feel like all that time was ‘wasted’ :)) xo

      Like

  7. “Your” birds are so cute. Lovely to see them grow so fast. That snake is big, at least its not poisonous. I grew up on a farm and do not recall seeing a skin quite that big.
    I adore all your latest projects, you have indeed been busy. Pity about the gray sweater. I bought gray yarn for a cardigan / sweater, and I hope I will have enough. 🙂
    Yes, crochet is a thing of its own. I do crochet as well, and when I start I tend to not stop until the project is done. 🙂
    Great post, I loved reading what you are up to. Thanks for all the gorgeous pictures. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I’m glad I’m not the only one who can’t stop once they start! 🙂 thank you, yes I can’t believe how fast the birdies grow. They remind me of little dinosaurs at the moment for some reason 🙂 really looking forward to seeing your next grey project, I adore grey, definitely my favourite colour to knit and crochet with!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • lol. they are kind of little dinosaur look-alikes. So sweet. Its great to get to watch them grow and see the parent birds around.
        I am going to make grey for the coming winter, and will keep you posted. 🙂 I feel the same way about blue at the moment. Have to stop myself from buying blue all the time.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Now I know what the babies look like! Our shrike thrushes build their nests a LONG way away from our house. Your girl has her head screwed on right. Nothing is going to eat her babies that close to humans :). I started to twitch a bit at the sight of that snake skin but its pythonesque? That puts it in a whole different basket. I LOVE your handmade Lazy Kate M is a true rustic craftsman :). Yeah, you are “hooked” alright ;). Gotta say, I adore crochet and it IS fast. You can hook something faster than you can say “supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” but what makes it fast is what also makes me lust for the simple clean lines of knitting. I guess the grass is always greener ;). Your Finland sweater is sheer unmitigated gorgeousness and as soon as you finish it, you can watch Mary Poppins and get that grey baby fired up and rocking. Can’t wait to see how they both turn out :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi narf! 🙂 The shrike thrushes left the nest yesterday, we were fortunate enough to see it too, they were so cute!! :)) have just been reading your adventures this week, love it, your post really made me laugh! 🙂 yes I see what you mean about the textural element with crochet and knitting…sometimes you just want smooth, clean lines…but the speed, oh the speed was what I loved! I’ll definitely do the cardigan, it’s a little chunky but sometimes I guess that’s good, and then will see if I’m still ‘hooked’ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Maybe you are ambidextrous when it comes to crafts. I hear it is possible ;). I have decided to take the plunge and buy some of your gorgeous knitting patterns and have a go at 2 needles (and more). I have always had a secret lusting for making socks and between you and Ms Twisted (The Twisted Yarn) my sock fetish has been reignited to the MAX. I adore your Metallicus and can’t wait to muddle my way through that pattern. I want to make one for everyone that I know because it is SO gorgeous. You are one talented lady 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much, i am so happy to hear when someone wants to make something I designed! Squee! :)) (let me know if you need any help along the way, I have helped a couple of people through it who had never knitted anything in the round before) Am excited that you’re catching the knitting bug, I can absolutely see you making your socks from scratch! I so envy the colder weather that justifies piles and piles of funky woolly socks! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think we might have a while to go before we get back to serious cold again. I think we are due for a long dry summer this year. That will make the onset of winter all the more wonderful and I might have to wear 3 pairs of homemade socks all at once to celebrate 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Apologies, I’m having trouble commenting on your blog and not receiving some notifications, my WordPress app has really been playing up since I updated it :/ so please excuse my rudeness if I ignore a comment! That is very cool Stevie-boy plays classical guitar too! Not too much of it around! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • He was going to study classical guitar but ended up having to move when he was younger. He has a really lovely classical guitar in the U.K. but is worried that it might not make it out here if he sends it. The foibles of classical guitars 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh what a shame, yes they can be delicate things! Really need to be chaperoned i guess. I got one of mine across here from Perth on the train but I cradled it like a baby the whole way 🙂 even in a hard case lol. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Steve is worried about pressure and temperature difference on the trip over. If we ever win lotto we might go and pick it up ;). I originally come from W.A. Lived there all of my life till I met Steve (from the U.K.) then we migrated to Tassie 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I see, a very special guitar ❤️ ❤️❤️ my poor babies have had to cope with everything from cats chewing the strings to mould to 40 degree temperatures, but then none have any particularly great value other than sentimental…my oldest, most beaten Spanish one has endured amazing hardships and oddly still tunes up perfectly and sounds the best of all…I would love to have a very special one too someday, perhaps get one specially made…that will be my lotto purchase :)) I loved living in Perth 🙂 when I think of it I always remember bright sunlight! I’m from Adelaide originally. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Adelaide and Perth are really sister cities. Stevie-boy loved Perth as well. When he moved out from the U.K. he wanted to move there but we ended up in Albany W.A. instead. It’s all good :). Steve has 13 guitars here (most of them electric) but has never forgotten his baby he had to leave behind in the U.K. It’s with his mum and one day he will buy it a ticket and will bring her back.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Sunday again? - Seeking Sanctuary

Leave a Reply

